Sober48 hours. How do I do kick this habit for good?

kevinm

Struggling with sobriety right now. As I type this I've been sober for 48 hours. The funny thing is, it isn't alcohol I'm addicted to... it's marijuana. I live in one of the legal states, but I've been smoking pot for many years. Recently I've been quite "chronic" (always high everyday) and it got to the point where I just sit on the couch, smoke pot and watch movies. No, I'm not a kid. Yes, I have a job. I work high too. When I was younger more of my friends smoked, but now many of them have "moved on" to start families or have just decided to quit or whatever. For some reason though, I can't seem to quit. Instead I've watched my life slowly unravel over the years. I'm not the person I want to be, not where I should be in life. Not that I have grand expectations about $ or romance or anything like that... just that I should be happier. Marijuana used to make me happy, now it's a crutch. It makes me lazy and it's slowly taking my health.

I'm just wondering, for those who have been here before.... how did you beat your addiction to marijuana? Please don't provide related stories of alcohol/hard drugs as I believe they don't relate... well they relate, but I'm looking for specifics. Thanks everyone.

There is a group called Narcotics Anonymous (NA) with a similar format to AA - just focused on addictive substances other then Alcohol. Please note there is yet a third group called Nar-Anon which is NOT the same at all. Nar-Anon is a Scientology based group which I would strongly discourage you from getting mixed up in. However NA would be a strong support group for you, you would get a sponsor, you'd have some structure with getting to the meetings, and also a good group of people to hold you accountable as you make positive changes to your life as a whole.