Too much stuff!!!

hidden_kitten

I have moved back in with parents after a crappy break up. I moved away less than a year ago so there's a lot of stuff I hadn't got round to chucking/donating so have had to haul it back here. When I moved away with my ex, I got rid of old furniture in my old room so now it's all stacks of boxes and nowhere to put the contents.

I'm quite overwhelmed with having to unpack and set up shop again. I was an art student so have a lot of materials/folios I feel I can't part with (for a start they were quite expensive!) Also a keen reader and music fan so a lot of boxes were filled to the brim with books and CDs. My ex's flat is BARE except for his tiny shelf of DVDs. I envy him!

One worry is that I'm looking for a new job, probably far away and possibly in a different country, and I feel really disheartened having to take everything with me again, but at the same time hate the thought of leaving it here.

Not sure what kind of advice I'm looking for here. Is anyone else a ridiculous hoarder like me? Has anyone ever done an extreme declutter/overhaul?

Here's some thoughts (and this is from experience)

Books: if you are not emotionally attached to such a such a title, and it can be borrowed from the public library, then give it away (write down the title)

Movies/DVDs: same thing - you can get that stuff on line anyway

Clothes: if they don't fit, never will or they look out of fashion (whatever that might be) then toss/give away to charity

Art stuff: Some works you can't ever give away, some you can - take a photo, post it on facebook whatever, and toss. Keep the good stuff though

Art supplies: make sure they are still good - paint dries out, paper yellows etc etc

You get the idea.

Get some nice new boxes - all identical. Pack them well, label them, date them and stack them

Start with three piles: keep, throw away, give away and just keep working away at it.

Q: How do you eat an elephant?

A: One bite at a time.