At what point do you just give up entirely?

Blue Spiral

Over the last twenty years, I've been engaged in a slow-motion retreat. A gradual withdrawal from society's model for relationships. (And, yes, I realize how pretentious that sounds.) I may be getting ready to take the next step.

When I was a teenager, I already knew that I never wanted to get married or have kids. When I was in my twenties, I realized that dating didn't sound all that appealing to me, nor did the whole "the guy pursues" aspect of things. (Yes, the dating issue didn't come up until I was that age; shockingly, back when I was a teenager, women weren't tripping over each other to ask me out, and I never had this alleged "the man enjoys being the hunter" urge.) After my second (and a half) relationship ended, when I was 26, I realized that I'd never enjoyed monogamy, so I switched exclusively to FWB.

That's basically what I've been doing for the last eight years, though I did try to will myself into monogamy/normalcy for my last girlfriend, as she kept trying to give me chances. (Seriously, she was still giving me chances early last year, hoping that I'd magically become monogamous/normal. Unfortunately, she's cut off contact, since then. I have to believe that most women would have given up on me long before that.) As a reference, keep in mind that my all-time record for being monogamous with a woman is...a few months. Maybe six, if you push it. Alternately, if you count "emotional" faithfulness or whatever it's called, my record is more like a week or two.