24- almost quarter life crisis?

mia616

Hey everyone... I guess I am going through a bit of a quarter life crisis right now. I am 24, still live at home, see all of my friends getting engaged and married and I can't help to feel jealous. I have a good job. I am a teacher- something that I have worked toward for a while. I am living at home because I have some student loan debt. I have a car also I am paying and I pay my parents rent. I still can't help to feel jealous of my friends I see around me who seem to have jobs that are not steady, still have their own apartments, getting engaged/ or are already married, etc. I just feel kind of stuck. I have a boyfriend but he has his own place so I go to visit him a lot also. We are also about 1 hour away from each other so it can get tough at times visiting, etc.

I am not sure what I am asking technically- Probably more for any advice or people who feel the same way, etc. I know I shouldn't complain as I have a good job, nice place to live, food, and all the necessities. How do you stop comparing yourself to other people? I want to not compare myself so much to my friends but its so hard with facebook now a days and every posting everything about themselves on there!

Thanks for your words of wisdom in advance!

hi mia,

Im in the exact same boat...my ex broke up with me a few days ago...devastated...anyway, we were talking about buying a house...not now..i cant afford to move out on my own-especially where i live-its way too expensive..i think "oh god, how am i going to meet someone when im ready..everyone will be living their own lives by then"....it just sucks..i just look at ppl like my mum..she met someone in her late 30's...and they just bought a house shes as happy as ever