He's planning to visit, but spending too much money

Anberlin

My bf of 3 years years lives in England, and I'm in the US. He is coming to visit my country when we have enough money saved up (splitting the cost), and when he can get off work, and I'm on a break from classes. So there's kind of that pressure to have the money by the time we are free to spend a lot of time together.

I'm a full time student with no actual job, though I'm trying to find work on campus as an option. I work online on a few sites regularly, I guess they can count as jobs as they help out a lot...I have a slow but steady increase in funds right now. I save up the money I get from that as well as birthdays, Christmas etc and I watch how much I'm spending. I try to only buy the necessities - dorm supplies and the cheap textbooks online. If I do buy something that is just a want, I make sure it is something cheap.

On the other hand, he has been out of school for a while and has a good job. Naturally, I thought he'd come up with his half of the money first. He told me though that he was worried about money because what he makes is just barely enough to cover his bills lately (car, credit card, internet, everything else). So it's been looking like I'd be able to come up with it first.

Here's where the issue comes in. He's always had a tendency to spend quite a bit of money. He never stopped spending so much, going on shopping trips at least once a week just to buy things he thinks are cool. I've had no problem with this, it's his money and he's earned it, but I'm just starting to get concerned. I guess his most recent purchase kind of pushed me over the edge a bit.