how to handle finances in new marraige?

so, my fiance and i will be getting married next year, and although we are both very communicative and practical people, we haven't figured out how to handle our finances once we're married.

it's not like we disagree or are awkward about talking about it, we just are really clueless as to the best way to handle things! i know that legally the state will view our finances in a particular way (like if god forbid we got divorced and had our assets divided), but i'm just talking about what arrangement we want between ourselves...

so here's the deal. he's a grad student, i'm an attorney. i don't have a ton of money, but i have been working for a couple of years and have saved up a bit... he'll be in school for at least a couple of years after we're married and then will be working in a job. i'll probably always make about 1.5 times what he does....

so, obviously, i feel like for the most part we'd want to combine our assets. i'd have no problem using the money i've saved for a down payment on a house someday and clearly- esp. while he's in school- i'm going to be paying the vast majority of rent, bills out of my salary.

however, i do think there are advantages to keeping money separate in some ways. for example, my mom isn't in the best financial position and i'd like to be able to continue to help her out occasionally without my fiance feeling like i'm giving her "our" money. also, i think it's nice for each of us to be able to feel like we can spend some money (within reason) without feeling like we have to check with the other person...maybe i shop more than him, or maybe he spends money going out with the guys...if we had some separate money i don't think we'd resent each other's purchases the same way as if it was coming out of "the pot"