I Like to Drink A Lot and My Friends Think That's an Issue. How Can I Talk to Them About It?

sadstudent18

I am a 21yo college student. I like to drink to get drunk, but it takes a lot of drinks for me to get there (5+/night), because I am a 230lb male. I don't do this often, only on Fridays or Saturdays every other weekend. I've never blacked out and have only thrown up twice since I started drinking a little more than a year ago. I am also comfortable drinking by myself if my friends aren't available, which I know carries some stigma.

Given all this, a two of my friends, meaning well, are concerned that I have issues with alcohol consumption. I know binge drinking is not great for your health, but I also know that I'm young and have a limited time window where this kind of behavior is socially acceptable. Frankly, I enjoy the feeling of alcohol, and I am (at least I think) pretty fun when I'm drinking. I've never had problems with getting angry or sad, I mostly just dance and talk politics.

However, I still want to maintain a good relationship with my friends. I know they mean well, but I don't see any problem as long as I'm not passing out or throwing up or otherwise endangering myself/others.

So: 1) what are others' opinion on this situation? Do you think I have a problem? And 2) how should I address my friends' concerns? Should I change my behavior? Or just explain to them my point of view?

Peace.

Needing that many drinks means you have a tolerance.

Blacking out and vomiting are not the only indications of having a problem.

Sounds like you may have a bit of a problem. Try doing things other than drinking and see what happens. If you crave it, then you definitely need to work on cutting back.