Parents offer to pay but moan?

butterfly45

Im in my final year of my postgrad studies, which financially has been a struggle as my scholarship ran out a few months ago. I make a bit of money from teaching.

I received an invoice from my university for my writing up year which I wasn't expecting until summer so was a bit stressed out. Anyway my mum said she would like to pay it to help me out.

Thing is when I heard her tell my dad he said "fine we will pay it, but after that, that's it". I decided to talk to them both and I said I'd like to pay it myself I'll just work out a budget etc. But they were adamant they'd like to pay it as it's a "business" payment to help my future not a luxury thing.

So I'm confused. If I let them pay they resent me, but when I argue they are insistent. What would you do?

You said you weren't expecting it, so were a bit stressed out. So you can understand if they also weren't expecting it and maybe felt a bit stressed themselves. That doesn't exactly mean they are resentful or moaning. They said "fine we will pay it, but after that, that's it" to make it clear what can be expected down the road, and you can plan accordingly or find other solutions (without you feeling resentful or moaning about them, hopefully). Perhaps you could have gone to the school and worked with a budget there? Or taken out a loan? Applied for an emergency grant? (If such a thing exist?) Or sold some belongings? I know it is tough to get an unexpected bill, it can be extremely stressful. You never know how tight money is for other people, and if they get stressed about it, try not to take it personally. You may not see their bigger picture.

I don't understand why you told them you'd "like to" pay it yourself but "work out a budget". If you could do that, why didn't you in the first place, instead of going to your parents? That's confusing.

I get the feeling that the OP was talking to her mum about it, not asking for a handout.