Mixed Signals

My partner and I had been together for 5 years. We broke up 2 months ago, we both contributed to the break up but ultimately he has been the driving force in the break up. We have a 7month old little girl, who was an unplanned pregnancy and turned his world upside down. He has been struggling to be a father and the lifestyle change that a baby brings, he until recently left me to raise her on my own. While he was out drinking all the time. More complicated we own a house together and I am a student.

The last 2 months have been awash with mixed signals from him, which since he has been going to counselling have been getting worse. He has reduced his drinking and has been making an effort with both her and me, making it worse because I dont know whata going on?!

He says he doesnt want to do the family life, yet hasnt looked to move out of the house..apparently loads of people have offered their sofas up to him, which he hasnt taken and he wants to spend time with baby and me. He says he enjoys spending time with her and with me.

Today I told him I couldnt do it anymore. I dont think he really realises the true extent of the breakup. That we cant keep living together in this weird hippy arrangement where we still act like a couple at the weekends and he refers to us, as an us. Yet has his batchelor life in the week days. He cried when I asked him to move out and to stop being nice to me as we arent together and he was making it confusing for me. I asked him what he wants from the situation and he said he didnt know.

Do you think he is having second thoughts about it all? Or do you think he truly doesnt know what he wants from his life?

I think you were wise to ask him to leave because its unhealthy for the both of you to be in this kind of limbo and by living there, he has no motivation to change a thing.