sorry in advance lol

seoulthirsty

hi. this is my first time actually posting here without lurking. i've been wanting to post something for a while. initially it started out with something else, but the problem is solved. in fact, my relationship is really great. there hasn't been a problem at all, and my boyfriend and i have been officially together for about a year.

so, this is a safe space, right? not gonna be judged? lol

this is dumb. i know it's dumb, but sometimes i can't stop myself. unfortunately, i was born with the personality trait called: stubborn. still, it's not my entire fault.

ok, hear me out.

my birthday is next month (oh boy, you just said in your head, didn't you? rolled your eyes maybe? same, same).

my boyfriend and i made each other acutely aware at the beginning of our relationship the dynamics we have when exchanging gifts and receiving them. he grew up differently, and so did i. he's 26 and i'm 23. age difference doesn't matter for me, we get along very well with no issues and it doesn't even feel like the age difference is there. it's just 3 years. nbd.

so, he's used to getting money for occasions/holidays or basically nothing, not even a card with a heartfelt note in it. his dad isn't around + his mom is always working, so he spends the most time with his 3 siblings who are all younger than him.