Open Club  ·  31 members  ·  Free

Travel and Culture

To stay or go back to my home country

rasty415

I have been here in the US for over 10 years and everything is pretty much settled down. I came here as an international student roughly 10 years ago. I graduated here and have been working here since. I can say that everything is stable and I have gotten used of pretty much everything here. Also, I met my girlfriend when I was in college and yes, everything is pretty much settled down.

Now here is the problem. My parents, especially my dad, we have been talking about me going back home (in this case, Hong Kong) for quite some time. He thinks that this is the best for me if I can go back and take over his business. I do not disagree. I really don't wanna disappoint my family but on the other hand, I have my own life here. This is a dilemma. My girlfriend is not able to to move back there with me any time soon since her family is here and she has her own business here.

I guess this is life and we all have to make decisions. I may be selfish what is the best for my life. As a matter of fact, I had homesick when I first came here. However, everything has changed. At this very moment, I really don't know what I should do. And now, my dad is thinking that my girlfriend is the one who holding up everything and this may just worsen the relationship between me, my girlfriend and my family. I think this is more about me, not my girlfriend. I'm lost and don't know how to deal with this.

I didn't ask for coming here at the first place and now everything has changed. What should I do?

If I was you I'd stay here, your life is here, your job, your girlfriend. I dont agree with parents pressuring grown kids to do what they (parents) want them to do. As an adult it should be your decision as to where you live and what you do. Perhaps you could visit them more often each year as finances and time permit.

I think you should make a list.