Loving BF making comments about my weight... help...

whitwhit

My boyfriend and I have been dating for 7... almost 8 months now. He is a medical student and I am a teacher. He is 27, I am 25. As a partner it has been a wonderful experience so far dating him; he is loving, romantic, sweet, helpful, affectionate and silly. Personality wise, we are very well matched and my friends love him.

He is a triathlete, very fit- little to not fat on his body and a gloriously toned behind. I am slightly taller than him. We are an odd couple, but I do love it... and him, dearly.

I am in the process of changing my eating and exercising habits. By no means am I obese, but I am not entirely skinny either. I guess I would consider myself a little chubby, but still very attractive. Health wise, I am about 15 pounds overweight (according to the BMI scale). By the way, my body in no way bothers me. I am comfortable with it. I am changing my habits to increase my energy and help me get out of some mild seasonal depression I have been going through.

In america, my body size/shape would be a non-issue. But I live in Japan, the land of the 20 to 22 BMI standard, and my boyfriend is Japanese.

In this culture, its not considered rude or insensitive to straight up tell someone they are fat and that they should lose some weight. Japanese people with extra weight will nod and smile and the conversation will move on.

I am not a Japanese person, and have told him it hurts my feelings when he makes comments about my body. Since then he has toned this down a lot, but it doesn't change the fact that inside his head he thinks my body is not as it should be.

It's really confusing to me, because he continues to confess his feelings for me, to be romantic, to develop our relationship beautifully. We talk at least twice a day and see each other every day we are both free (around 2-3 days a week).