BF says he 'doesn't give a<edit> when I bring up world events or art and culture

bananashampoo

I have been with my boyfriend for about 7 months now and things are very great between us though lately I have been noticing things about him that I am trying to hash out and understand. It is very evident that we both love each other very much, so this helps a lot.

The biggest issue here is that he seems to be very apathetic on issues that he doesn't want to talk about. And when there are things he wants to talk about he has his opinions and will just talk at me and not ask my own opinion on the subject. This is something I find to be really tough to deal with. When I confronted him about it he said he simply just doesn't 'give a s*it' about things such as human rights or what is going on in the world (things that I like to talk about, I am also studying social work and I have a lot of heavy things I want to talk about with him). He said part of it is because he can get sucked into these topics really badly and it is a downward spiral so he gets defensive to protect himself. I understand that, but me, I like to share things with people and get their opinions on topics and I want it to be mutual. I feel like this is how I learn about people and I do it to get closer.

He then gave me an example, he said if he played me a song that he said he really liked, and I thought it was horrible, what would I say? I told him I would tell him I found it to be generic or whatnot, and offer constructive criticism then perhaps ask him questions as to why he likes the song so I can learn about him. He then said why would I want to know anything about the song when I didn't like it and I said 'I would want to know because I care about you and want to know more about who you are.' He seemed to have a light bulb moment right when I said that but he said he thinks this would not help to learn more about a person.