Would you be willing to date someone who doesn't work?

LightbulbSun

I've been trying to get a job for a while now. I'm a college student, 3/4ths the way through my freshman year.

Anyway, I just got turned down for another job, and this was one that I was kind of promised last November when I first applied (I said I couldn't work, they said call back when I can, now they don't want to hire me.) I've applied to so many places that haven't called me back, and I'm starting to lose hope.

Anyway, is being out of a job a relationship killer? In this economy, it seems to be extremely hard to get a part-time job. Whenever I've gone out and looked for a job before, I've found one almost right away...this time, months later, I'm still stuck in the jobless position.

• Replies 50
  • Created
  • Last Reply

if you are a full time student, no i wouldn't expect you to have a job.

when i was in college, i did work some part time jobs, but i didn't do it for the money, but for the references and experience. as in, i chose jobs that were related to my major, like working in a laboratory. i would look around for work opportunities/apprenticeships in your major.

No, as a full-time college student you are not expected to have a job. It's not like you sit at home and play xbox all day--- you go to class, you study, etc.

I think it would be a good idea to have a part-time job if you can find one and not compromise your studies, but I don't think not having a job should adversely affect your dating life. Other than the fact that you won't have any money for dates! But you will have more time to spend with a SO if you are not working.

As far as experience goes, you can always try volunteering to build up your resume. Especially for a competitive field like yours, a company may be willing to let you come and do some volunteer work/job shadowing or an unpaid internship. If they like you this may lead to a job.