Your Feedback Would Be Appreciated

CrapAtNC

OK. I'll try and keep this brief.

I'm 39. She's 31 and Asian. We are very well suited, and clearly very fond of each other. I think she is the one for me, except for her moody behaviour. She is very shy and has a problem communicating well with people, especially me.

She dumped me several months ago but wanted to stay friends 'and build a new relationship from there'. She quickly went into a rebound relationship that has since ended. We stayed in contact the whole time, but if I began showing signs of moving on, she would make a move to keep me around. She still does. For a while, I made it clear that I wanted us to get back together. She wasn't hostile to the idea, but kept saying no when pressured. We had sex or were very intimate several times, including during the 'rebound period'.

I decided to go NC, but I'm not very good at not responding.

I went away on a two-week holiday to Thailand. She called me crying a couple of days before I left begging to talk. I asked what about, and she said 'Nothing'. Then she said she just needed someone to talk to. I pointed out that it wasn't my job any more. She put the phone down. We talked some more a little later. She says she has problems. I love the girl, so I pay a surprise visit the night before I leave. She doesn't say much, but it's clear she is very down. She makes it clear she knows she has communication problems and has been 'a biatch'. I give her a reassuring pep talk, and she rewards me with the best hug ever as I leave.

She looks after my cat while I'm away. She calls me in day 2 of my holiday to tell me the cat is hiding in her one-room apartment, but spends an hour talking about how unhappy she is, and how she thinks I will have sex with lots of Thai girls. I get a similar lengthy international call the next night, and text messages every day about the missing cat.