Life decisions, advice?

Lucha

Hi everyone, could use some advice regarding my current situation. I am a 28 year old, working as a doctor in a hospital. For the past three years I have rented a place in the city I studied in and also close to where I work. However, in the past few years all of my friends have moved out of town (graduated as doctors and settled elsewhere). I have been feeling very lonely in the city I live in. On top of that, the appartment I rented had many, many issues. The rent is high and there are issues with humidity (mushrooms growing in my badroom for crying out loud), noise, cracks in the wall, bugs, tiles coming off in badroom, kitchen stove not working properly,.. all of which my landlord did nothing much about or it took an eternity.

So I decided to stop the rent. I figured I would find something else easily, but I also wanted to take my pet cats who still live witj my parents and move them with me - bc my family situation is not safe for them. Different story - in short, my mother has some (in my opinion, serious) mental issues and is not capable of taking proper care of them all the time.

I come to discover almost NO landlord allows pets in a rented appartment. I am very much surprised. Renting without taking my pets with me this time is not an option for me.

So I am now living -temporarily- back at my parents place while also looking into buying a small flat, since my age and considering the investment, but I feel confused. There is not a place that really attracts me and my main motive would be to escape my toxic family situation.

So many questions, should I buy, should I rent (which is for at least another three years- contract), keep living with my parents in an unhealthy situation..

My work situation is that I need to work another 1,5 year in that city, and then I need to switch hospitals which is still unsure.

I am pretty much on my own, no relationship and not waiting for it.