Obsessively comparing my life with the past, and it's impacting my happiness

Hello everyone,

Two and a half years ago, I finished my studies at university. By that time, I'd had a wonderful 6~7 years studying there. The 'city' I studied at (it was barely a city, really; it consisted of the university terrain plus a few very green neighborhoods and a small city center) was much more rural, peaceful, cohesive and friendly than the big city which I grew up in. It's also on the opposite side of the country. Its location was fairly impractical to reach both by car and public transport, but I feel like it added to the feeling that it was its own little cozy bubble, away from the busy world of stress, business and people problems.

Of course, this is a partially romanticized memory of what the place was like. I spent some of the best years of my life so far there. What I've realized in hindsight, is that the university terrain was both my "first place, second place and third place", as described by sociologist Ray Oldenburg. It was my place of living, my place of "working" (studying, in this case), and my place for community life and interaction. I cycled everywhere. All my friends were within 3 minutes of cycling, and I saw them all daily; even if we didn't plan something in the evening (which was fairly rare). I had a park in my backyard. I took violin lessons in a beautiful building in the small city center, went to the grand total of five food places / restaurants that were there often with friends, took long walks in the two large arboreta that were present. I felt utterly safe walking the streets alone in total darkness at 3am.

I miss all of this.