Why is research such an offensive thing anymore?

I'm putting this in personal growth because it doesn't really fit anywhere else. And ultimately this is probably something I will just need to learn to not let bother me, which involves growth in the end. 

I just want to do a little opinion gathering on something.  Something has happened to me repeatedly over the last couple months that I don't understand.  Maybe there's something I 'm just missing because I can be dense when it comes to other people. 

I am working on a novel right now.  I'm hoping to release it this year.  There is a scene toward the end of the book that involves both an overdose and a murder.  And I want to write it as realistically as possible.  So I went to an online community for EMS workers.  I explained this situation.  Basically my post said, "I'm an Indie writer doing some research for my novel.  If an overdose was happening in the same house where a murder just happened, and a 911 call was received, how would this be handed?  Like, would the cops have to go in and clear the scene before the EMTs come in to treat the overdose victim?  Would they just get the person who overdoses out of the house as fast as they can and treat them in the ambulance so the cops can clean up and collect evidence?"  Etc.  This isn't exactly what it said, I shortened it for brevity.  But this is the gist. 

Well, I had some people really upset with me.  And the mods of the community removed my post.  I got a message from a Mod telling me pretty much., "You've been here multiple times in the last two years asking about these violent scenarios.  Maybe you should seek therapy and learn to write happy stories."