I'm a college student who had been doing a long-distance relationship with a guy from my small hometown for 2 years. We began dating right after I graduated high school. I thought that he and I were a match made in heaven. We understood each other, we had the same sense of humor, we gave each other the love and support that we both needed. We were truly in love, and we both believed that marriage was a possibility in the distant future. However, due to family problems/conflict, I moved to a different state thousands of miles away for college, so we couldn't be together for the majority of the year.

Long distance took a huge toll on me. We had very different schedules, me being extraordinarily busy with academics and college life, and him having a bit more free time. We got into a lot of fights because of that, him getting upset at me (understandably so) for not making enough time to skype him/call him. I also suffer from depression, largely due to growing up in an unstable home environment. As a result, I was always reluctant to go back home for vacations, even if it was to see my (now ex-) boyfriend. So, trying to start a new life in a different state, pushing myself to make new friends, all while maintaining a long distance relationship took a huge toll on my mental health.