Not Sure How to Feel About This Situation (Rekindling an old flame)

sweetdesire

I was involved with a guy about 2.5 years ago, it was strictly FWB, late nights, only called him when I went out etc. for about a year

I ended things you can say because I felt he didn't want anything serious. I was young he was young whatever.

Fast forward to now I recently reached out to him again just to see how he was doing and we totally hit it off. I mean we would talk on the phone for hours catching up on life and what we've been up this whole time. You can say we both made some major accomplishments, I graduated state, he got a job as an entry level probation officer, we both did not have kids and we're both heading towards a successful future. We even jokingly fantasize about a future together "one day."

Now here's the catch, he did share with me he is involved with someone however it does not appear serious and he explained to me their situation. It doesn't feel right to him because she has a son from a previous relationship. He even refers to the son as her son, not his or not even the kids name. Its ironic because I was also involved with someone who had a son and it also did not feel right. It was too much stress so we had that in common.

As soon as he mentioned that, I told him great, it's been really nice catching up with you and told him I didn't want to interfere with his relationship. Some time passed by and he began reaching out to me but completely a 360% from when we would talk initially. We went from him checking in to him calling me everyday, texting, coming to my work taking me out to lunch, he even invited me out with his friends. This has been going on a solid month now. I've been depending on him to make all the efforts.