Still so angry/looking for therapy

This may read like verbal vomit - posting from my phone and having horrible urges to reach out to the ex again. Hoping to post here until it passes.

One thing for certain is that I still get waves of anger and I don't know how to deal with it. I've never felt as bad as this towards anyone before. It was around this time last year the relationship broke down and he had checked out, despite me desperately wanting him to meet me half way. Now I want to put him through a wall/ruin his business/have him fail in some other ridiculous and irrational way.

So rather than end up with a police record I should really seek some counselling, however in the past I've never used it in such a specific way before. My previous sessions didn't have any specific focus or goal in mind but if I went now I would rather know that there would be 'structure' to the sessions, if that makes any sense? Has anyone here sought help in this way? My last round of counselling was through the nhs but maybe going private this time would fare better?

I did, but at the same time I also went out to a gym and punched the crap out of a bag, ran more miles than I care to count, (dang I looked good back then!) and I kept a journal. My therapist talked to me about it yes, but it was more getting me to look past the anger to the underlying issues. And I went private although it was with a woman I'd worked with and was friendly with, so I worked out a barter system with her.

That's not something most will have, but if you can find someone good yes even a few sessions will help. But also try the physical workouts, the journal where you keep everything down and never let anyone see it. And you keep it until you're bored to tears of the whole thing and then you destroy it however you see fit.