How do you know if breaking up is the right choice?

laboheme

For various reasons, I feel that I should maybe break up with my boyfriend of 1.5 years. I've been thinking about it for months. However, every time I think about it, I become a complete emotional mess. But I don't know if I'm crying because I'm afraid of hurting him, because I don't like the thought of being alone, or because I truly am in love with him. And I don't want to end things and realize down the road that I made the wrong decision, you know?

I've had relationships end before, so I'm not going to be all dramatic and say that I'll never find anyone else, because I obviously have found other people (such as this guy). But this is my first time as a potential dumper, and with it comes...responsibility, I guess? Being dumped is one thing, and yes, it hurts, but there's usually nothing you can do about it. But if I'm the one ending things, it's all in my control, and I don't want to find myself regretting the decision several years down the road.

How have others made the decision to break up with someone? (Assume that there are no major problems like cheating, abuse, etc.)

What are the reasons that you want to break up with him?

Just a few things off the top of my head:

- I'm not happy in general, but I have a hard time telling if it's the relationship that's making me unhappy or certain stresses in life. (I know it's not depression, so that's off the table.)

- I never feel like having sex with him. Once again, I don't know if it's because I'm no longer attracted to him or because I'm currently stressed and would much rather sleep.

- His lack of direction in life is getting to me. I have a solid career and feel like he's still stuck in college, working a part-time job, even though he's a few years older than me. To be fair, he has been trying to come up with a plan in the last few months, but nowadays it looks like he doesn't want to follow through with it.