college experience

Princess123

I loved my university. I like to pretend that if I could do it over, I'd go to a far cheaper school, but I know I wouldn't. My university has an excellent English program (what I studied), and I really believe that it was the professors there who are the reason I became the scholar I did-- and therefore the reason I'm getting my graduate school paid for.

I absolutely loved living on campus. I met a lot of people and learned to be on my own. It gave me independence and totally boosted myself esteem, it was amazing. My best friend (who has known me since we were 12) has always said that I blossomed in college. I'm sure that I would have had a good experience commuting, but for me dorming was absolutely the best possible choice. So many memories!

I have two options.

Commuter school living away from campus basically because right next to campus is not that safe, lol. 10 minute drive isn't too bad I just hear parking sucks! This has one degree that I'm interested in and costs $6,000-$7,000 a semester which I'm terrified of. This degree is teaching HS science with a special science teaching program.

The remote location of this other school is probably why it makes it under $3,000/semester. The apartments are very much closer to campus although no idea on prices yet. This one has a football team! The other doesn't and that doesn't seem like a big deal but sort of. This has about two maybe three different majors I would find interesting. It only has teaching MS science not HS. That would make me want to change my mind entirely.

My problem with student housing is that I have my own furniture and a lot of it, and all their apartments are furnished. From my knowledge at the commuter college, not sure of the other. I'm going to check out the farther one (2 hours away) next month, the area, and the apartments.

My dad would never let me do dorms or roommates he thinks its unsafe. I kind of became a royal queen and like living by myself.