Should I take time off?

My husband is planning on visiting his family in the middle of August. He wants me to come along, of course, and I want to go-- the only thing that would be stopping me is my job.

So, the summer job I got didn't end up quite like I expected. I was told I'd get 30-40 hours a week, but it's been a lot less. Lately it's been about 15, which is a huge improvement. In order to go on the trip with my husband, I'd have to take a whole week off work. That might feel okay with me, except for that the very next week, I have to take basically the whole week off because I'm doing a workshop for a program I'm starting in the fall. Since my hours will probably continue to increase as September comes up (I work as a tutor, so my schedule rises and falls with the standardized test cycle), I don't really like the idea of taking two full weeks off right at the end of August where my hours will be the best. My husband and I really need the money... my car needs new tires, and if I can't get them, I may have to bike the 15 mile round trip every day. Plus, I already took a week and a half off work to go to a seminar/my husband was volunteering thing halfway accross the country... and that was just in the middle of June.

I don't know. My husband really wants me to go and thinks I'm ridiculous for being worried about my work situation, and of course I'd love to go see his family. It's like he's so careful not to mess up his own work schedule (we have to be back by the weekend because that's when he works), but mine is "no big deal." I don't know what to do.

Well, its not the end of the world if you take 2 weeks off in august. There will always be a job..and you even said so yourself that its not what you expected. Another thing is..if your husband is not worried about it...then why should you? Make yourself happy and go on vacation!!