Any tips for online dating?

sonicfan287

Hey all,

Im a bit new to online dating and I'm not even sure if this is how I intend to find a potential girlfriend, but I am open to trying new things and am actually signed up on 2 dating websites, okcupid and plentyoffish. On each, I made my profile pretty straightforward, that I want a meaningful relationship without games or hassle (then again, who doesnt?) and I also mention some things about myself, my likes, dislikes and all that.

My problem is, how do you spark anyone's interest or even start a conversation besides "hey"? I go on several profiles who say they're looking for a relationship or at least looking for someone to talk to and I try to talk to them and never get a response, even though their profiles say they "reply often". I also never get any messages myself, and I guess I should be grateful that some whacko chick isn't messaging me, but still, I'm wondering how to get the ball rolling. I'll admit, a couple of my messages came on too strong, pretty much tellin a girl I don't even know that I think she's cute and would like to "get to know her better". I guess thats not the best way to do it. At the same time, simple messages like "hey whats up" dont get responses either, so what gives? Im not great at breaking the ice even in real life, so online is even harder.

Im wondering if anyone's had any success on these websites, even in meeting a new friend you can talk to online. Im not sure if Im ready for a long term relationship anyway, but I'd like to at least get started, get my feet wet, get to know some people, and Im not sure how to go about that. I can be pretty socially awkrard =p

"I made my profile pretty straightforward" = boring

Don't be boring. Boring is not a good first impression, boring is not a good conversation starter. "Hey" is boring, I've had women message me boring emails like that and even I couldn't bring myself to respond. I fear I've said boring too much...