Doing things for myself, not for my parents

dragon lady

My parents were always very encouraging and supportive IF I did what they wanted me to do. If I performed well academically, they would shower me with praise. If I dated someone they liked, they would treat him really well and encourage me to stick with him. They would always freely hand out money if they felt I was spending it on something they approved of.

However, if I strayed from their ideal path for me they would be distant, discouraging and downright mean. For example, I graduated with an undergraduate degree last year and I had planned to attend grad school this semester. They were very pleased with this. Now I've decided that I want to take some more time off to work and rebuild my life (I've recently relocated). When I told my mother this she was furious. She said that I'm going to be a loser and stuck in my current job for the rest of my life. Let's face it, my current job sucks big time. I'm often embarrassed to tell people what I do, but it pays reasonably well and it's easy. The lack of responsibility gives me room to focus on other things. I will try to get a better job and I will go back to grad school when I'm ready.

I understand that my parents have a very "elitist" mentality and my lack of desire to get straight in there, become highly educated and then start a fancy career drives them crazy. Needless to say, I get very hurt by some of the things they say to me. I know it's supposed to be motivational (and it used to be), but now it almost feels abusive. It's not like I'm a crack addict living under a bridge. I'm living out of home and I'm supporting myself. You may ask why this bothers me. I'm an adult and I'm supposed to be doing what I want to do, like most other adults. But I can't help letting it get to me. It's like I still feel the pressure to make them happy. When they put me down it further deflates my already low confidence and I feel like I need to work to please them.