Are politicians even worth complaining to?

ajaxajax

Hi there...

I've been reading about the possible closure of an Italian consulate in my home city, Adelaide (Australia). I was reading about what was said by an Italian-Australian (left-wing) politician. I was mostly fine with what he said until he said that:

"the “Italian political system” had a history of abandoning its people which explains why

over 26 million Italians have migrated from Italy since unification".

There are a few problems with that argument:

1. A lot of Italians did flee Italy but most of it was due to poverty, not through being treated like dogcrap by government - I studied it at university myself

2. His comment appeared to be a justification that Australian politicians are squeaky clean compared to the Italians, whereas one Aussie politician said in a newspaper that Italian and Aussie politicians are as capable of making stupid mistakes as each other - the Aussie ambassador in Italy was only sent there as keeping her past controversies quiet

3. Despite the harshness of life in Italy, my family in Australia endured so many difficulties outside Italy that the Aussie way of life the politician was loving in secret looked like overkill - in fact, my Aussie mother felt disgusted that her mother and some relatives hinted that they just couldn't wait for her grandmother to die just to get shares of her inheritance!

I have begun to learn not to become as angry towards Australia, but if Italians in Australia are going to continue talking about the country that made them like crap, then I'd just call them TRATTORI (traitors)! I've begun to realise that the depression I've been having has something to do with quite a few Italians here being two faced about their "Italian-ness"!

I wonder if the politician is saying what he said to back up the right of his left-wing party to keep using the Italian community as a F***ING chesspiece!

So...I'd just like to ask: