should you not date if you aren't reaching a certain income?

Caterina

Is it inappropriate to date someone if you aren't financially secure? I'm 26. I was in a professional job for three years. I was laid off. I blew my savings while looking for four months for a job. I found three jobs which were part time and paid a lot less. I got a roomate, a roomate who is much younger than I am...she's just entering college, she's 18. I wonder if I'm even worthy of dating right now? I mean, I just bought a car and I have just enough to get by every month. I have a very small amount in my savings. Is it even appropriate for me to think about love if I'm not living in a house, but in an apartment with a roomate at the age of 26, almost 27?

side note: i'm often asked out by men younger than I am. when I was a professional, there were no men my age around. now, all the men are younger than i am and they also don't have stable jobs...they are around 22. I want a relationship that leads to marriage but is this too much to ask?

Yeah but there are conditions...like, if I was homeless, I wouldn't think it would be appropriate to expect someone to date me.

Except you aren't homeless, so that's not an issue.

Would you really want to pass up a chance at something worthwhile because your bank account balance wasn't up to snuff?

I'm not clear what your concerns are here - is it that your material circumstances are less than you think they should be, and this is affecting your self-esteem? You're not exactly on the streets, you're earning, keeping yourself and have your own transport - I don't see a problem with that.

If you're concerned that younger guys who ask you out don't have stable jobs, is it because you're worried that you'll end up supporting them? Are they guys who are never likely to have stable jobs, or are they simply people who are doing their best, regardless of the current economic climate? (Very different things!)