I almost melted my hand...my hand!

I just moved and my apartment has one of those stoves with the flat burners. Now, I have never used one of those before -- always used regular burners, gas and electric -- and I knew, just knew I was going to screw up using these because they are way too flat and I had a feeling I was going to do something stupid with them.

And I did.

I was cooking up a stir-fry and my friend started talking to me, distracting me, so when I looked down, I saw a bunch of mysterious liquid on the stove. Me, being very smart, decided to take some paper towels to wipe off this liquid. Bad idea.

It wasn't just a liquid, it was liquid plastic, the handle of a plastic cutting board which was too close to the flat burner and melting. And I started wiping it up with a paper towel. Guess what happened? I got burned, very badly burned. Next thing I knew my right pinky was in terrible pain and I know the feeling of a burn (I cook a lot) so I immediately ran over to the sink and ran cold water on it. Suddenly my pinky and part of my ring finger was encoated in PLASTIC. Oh no! I knew what I had done.

Suffice to say it took me two hours to clean that damn burner.

But now I have these swollen fingers, bad. Not sure what to do with them. I cook a lot so I have burned myself many, many times, but not like this. Never encased my fingers in molten plastic. My pinky seems pretty badly burned, but the skin isn't sloughing off it yet or anything.

Any advice on how to treat it would be great! Right now it looks deformed, and forming a white something or other all over it. Aloe Vera isn't cutting it this time. It's hard, stiff, and pink and white. Ironically, it now FEELS like plastic.

Thanks!

Ehhh... it's been about 12 hours since the incident. I'm not paying for the ER.

I don't have health insurance/care -- wondering how to treat it in the meantime. Seems ok, but if it shows sign of infection, yes, I will go to the doctor.