Bossy coworkers: there's always one in the bunch. How to deal?

I work in a restaurant. I've worked there on and off since about 2009 (I've been in and out of the state). This time I am returning after three years away, but I've done similar restaurant work in some of those interum years, and have been able to remember how to do my job at this restaurant very well (though there's always stuff to improve on). I think the management values me, I know I am payed higher than many of my coworkers (not dramatically higher, but high enough that management wanted me to be discreet). I have felt a little guilty for getting payed more so I've put in extra effort to do a good job, be fast, efficient, thorough and hard-working. Coworkers have made comments about how I am always busy. (Keeping busy while store is slow can be an art I think I'm good at identifying what needs to be done, thinking on my feet when we're in a rush, working fast etc. which is important now that we are understaffed. I know I'm not perfect, but I think I am overall a strong worker/employee, and I generally have my ears and eyes out trying to sense what needs to be done next and where I would be most helpful. I find myself doing certain chores more than other people and/or doing them more thoroughly. On the other hand, I have low self-confidence and tend to ask questions if I don't know something, so I think maybe that gives a bad impression to some people. Maybe those who don't know me well assume this is an invitation to be micromanaged? I only ask the questions so I can know how to do it myself the next time (there are a lot of details to commit to memory), but perhaps my tone and demeanor suggest that I'm a bumbling bumpkin in need of extra help.