I need ANY help out there....PLEASE!

Well, I have posted before. Basically my ex and i have been apart for almost a year now, but we still hooked up and hung out until about 2 months ago or so. Well, in the last 2 months, i have only contacted him by phone 3 times. The third being today. On the second he told me he didn't love me as a friend anymore, even and even though we talked for an hour, at the end it kind of go out of hand because he will NEVER be nice and always acts so unhappy to talk to me. Well, today...he picked up and didn't know it was me (becuase it wasn't my number i called from) and when i old him it was me, he just said "Oh. I don't want to talk to you" He just kept saying that over and over and then hung up on me. We were together, officially, for 2 years and 3 months. He is a freshman in college and i am a sophomore. OUr schools are 5 minutes apart so there is no long distance and there is no reason we couldn't be together.

Really, though, i just want ot know why he is acting like this. This is the same guy who told me he would NEVER be able to get over me and ALWAYS compare me to every other girl. We lost our virginity to each other, which meant a lot to both of us, and we learned everything about a relaitonship with one another. I just don't see how he can all of a sudden hate me. Yes, i was persistent, but how is it possible to hate someone who only really tried to love you and do all they could possibly do for you?!