Maybe I'm overthinking?

HadaraNight

Hi! It's been a long time since I last posted in here. How have you been?

Well, I'm here because I need to ask you something...

I'm a 25 year-old woman and so far, I haven't been any romantic relationship. I've always wondered why, and so, some years ago, I began examining my life and tried to find out what the problem was.

I asked in many forums and people told me my problem was that I was too shy and had too much social anxiety. After examining myself, I found out they were right so I decided to do some changes to my life and I left that all behind. I dedicated lots of time to make myself more sociable and an extrovert and I think I have done it so far. Now I like talking to people and I can express myself freely with no more sweating hands or anything. I work as a teacher and I have no problems dealing with my students when speaking in front of them so, I can say I am not shy anymore. I go out more often, hang out with friends, have talks with my co-workers and participate actively in meetings and organizing events. At the beginning, I did it because I really wanted to find the "right one", but after some years, I began doing it just for myself, because I wanted to be a better person and because having social anxiety is way too restraining (I think). But maybe I overdid it with the confidence boost?

Funny thing that after all those changes now people tell me I am too independent and too overwhelming to be a possible partner. Now boys hide away from me (they run away, literally) and avoid conversations with me... This affects my romantic life but also my relationships with my friends... my friends can't stop saying how amazing I am, how I can do everything, how I can achieve anything I want... and whenever I feel bad, they don't believe me and just say can't be down! You'll get over it! It's you, isn't it? And you are too amazing! You are so dependable!"