Great love story with a terrible ending....Is there any hope? Warning: long!

rand100417

Hi everyone. I am new to this forum and I have never posted in something like this before, in all 5(!) years of this ongoing mess with my ex. Here is the story .

I am 28 (soon 29) and he is 32.

My exBF and I were friends since high school. We would go to concerts together. We wrote each other letters after high school, maybe a couple times a year, to update each other on our endeavors. He did ROTC and went on to be an army captain, and I went on to do well in college: I studied abroad, I learned another language, and came back to the states. We were not at all on each other's minds, but just fond of each other from a distance purely platonically. He referred to me as his O.F.F. - Only Female Friend. When he was deployed as a 1LT (first lieutenant) in Iraq, I happened to be in between semesters. We started talking online more and more, first through Facebook letters, then through gchat. Then he said, "go buy a webcam!" ...And it was OVER. Starting on Valentine's day 2009, he asked me officially to be his girlfriend. For six months, until he arrived, we talked as much as we could through Skype. I would send him care packages with ramen and homemade cookies, and I found myself almost sick with worry when he would go out on an IED mission. We fell in love with each other. His sergeant that he roomed with joked that it was all over for him...that he was probably going to marry me. He/we decided (he would email me these cute power point presentations about our plans) that I would move to Germany to be with him when his tour of duty in Iraq ended that summer. It was extremely nerve wracking meeting him at the airport for the first time, because although I had seen him years prior and and on the webcam, I hadn't seen him in person for years at that point. But he stepped out of the arrivals area and again - it was over. Totally in love.