New boyfriend's ex says she is pregnant

GG33

I had been talking to a man for over two months. We had been seeing each other a little over a month. We worked at a previous company together a few years ago and kept in touch. He is 46.

Who knows what the full true story is. I feel like he isn't telling the whole truth. But he has seemed so sincere. On December 12 we had had a discussion on if we were seeing other people. He initiated this. He said he does date someone from time to time but nothing committed but wondered if I see other people. He said since he started seeing me he hadn't been seeing anyone else. Only me. I told him I also hadn't been seeing anyone else and he was very happy to hear it.

So a week later we had a date planned and very upsettedly tells me this woman he had had an on/off relationship with for the past few years called and said she is pregnant. I don't know how old she is but she is in her 40's. And she claims she takes the pill but thinks antibiotics caused her to get pregnant. He claims that they last slept together before he started seeing me and it would have been october 15 or before that. It has me suspicious because of the timing of all of this, her age, and she waited this long to tell him. He claims that they backed things off over the last few months because it was hard for them to see each other often since they both have kids. (i'm wondering if the truth is he had that conversation with her after he asked me if I was seeing others or not and not two months ago like he implied.)

He told me he felt like he has no choice but to stop seeing me and give things with her a shot or at least get a clear head. I asked if he was in love with her and he said he didn't think so because of how he felt about me. I definitely think we were falling for each other and he wasn't being fake. This has been devastating.