Considering a career change at 25. Advice needed.

Exactly as the title says, it's something I'm heavily considering. I've been in this career for almost a year now (Over a year if you consider the experience I gained from school clinicals) and most days I find the work itself very tedious, and I'm severely underpaid for all I do. I know that the payscale can grow once I've had a few years of experience, but its hard to trudge through those years when the work is hard and the pay is poor. While I was in school for this, the instructors made it sound as if we would be respected and paid rightfully. I'm very discouraged at this point, and considering going back to school to pursue something that is less back-breaking with a much better pay. The only thing is, the things I am most passionate about don't seem to have a higher payscale either. Either that, or tons more schooling would be involved (something I really question my patience with).

The good thing is that I am not married nor do I have any kids. So I'm only responsible for myself at the moment. I just don't know what to really do from here. I could focus on improving in the line I'm already in and maybe (maybe) start seeing a raise soon (though it probably wouldn't be much of one, really I'd have to move to a bigger city to see a chance of that) Or, I could bite the bullet and go back to school even though I'm already way out of the traditional school age. I'm just so discouraged and feel like I should have been so much farther along by now at age 25. I still live with my parents, a very sheltered life. I want my own place so badly. Anytime I mention the idea of moving out, they are only too happy to remind me that I won't be able to afford it. This is something that is depressing me on a daily basis. I want my own life, but yes, I want to be able to afford it. Of course, the thought of going back to school only makes me think that I'd be wasting away the rest of my 20's in a classroom.