Embarrassed of being Poor

Leona700

I graduated from college and all through college I pretended that I was well of around my friends..I've been ashamed of my families jobs and poverty situation for 6 yrs and I can't change it. I love my family but I'm just so embarrassed and I can't get over it. I feel like ppl look down on me for it

I graduated from college and all through college I pretended that I was well of around my friends..I've been ashamed of my families jobs and poverty situation for 6 yrs and I can't change it. I love my family but I'm just so embarrassed and I can't get over it. I feel like ppl look down on me for it

If people look down on you for it, then they're more then likely not your friends. I'd rather be friends with someone who is considered "poor" who is genuine, then a "rich" friend who is fake anyday.

Eleanor Roosvelt said 'Nobody can make you feel inferior without your consent'. YOU look down on you and that is why you are feeling this way. The truth is though that no one is better than anyone else. We are all unique and we value different things, therefore comparisons have no point in reality. I do not value social status and money more than kindness and a good work ethic. To me a person from a poor family who managed to go to college will never be inferior to someone rich who never had to worry about going to college. I respect kind self-made people more. So it's all a matter of personal values. People who will reject you because of your social status alone, are not nice people to begin with so you lose nothing by not having them in your life. What you need to work on is clarifying and challenging what your personal values are. Because right now it sounds that you are one these people who value social status and money more than kindness, perseverance, a good work- ethic, interest in education, love - all the things that count so much more and that you and your family do have from the sound of it.