Considering seeing a therapist... advice?

Its been 6 weeks to the day since our initial breakup and its been a week since I told him I couldnt go on the way we were and that I needed to try and heal and move on... Though it was my decision, two days later he came to agree with it and told me that it was best we not speak to eachother for some time because we both have a lot we need to work on independently. The friends thing wasnt a complete failure but I wasnt getting what I needed from him. For some reason it seems like he may come back to me one day but that could be weeks, months or even a year from now. I still have this little flicker of hope that lives inside me and wont seem to extinguish itself out. I feel stupid.

Today I had to do everything I could not to contact him and its only been 4 days of official NC.

Im currently studying for a degree in psychology. I have been to a therapist once before about 5 years ago (so I was quite young still) and it helped me in so many ways I never even thought possible. She opened up the way I thought about things and I feel as though at the end of it I was a healthier and happier, more secure person. Somewhere down the line of this last relationship I lost myself and my bf (ex) could see that. My behaviours were a problem and I can honestly and openly admit that. Since the beginning of the year I had told him that I would be going to see a therapist, not just for me but also in the hopes that I could save my relationship. I never put this plan into action. Maybe my lack of action tipped it for him... I cant say I blame him.