Was he issuing me a warning...?

Hi Everyone! I'm new to ENA [as a poster] but I've been snooping around older posts for a few days now [how addictive is this site]! I'm posting my own story for people's insight and/or advice.

Well, my ex boyfriend of six months dumped me just over a month ago - by email. That was after nearly two weeks of giving me the silent treatment - something he did quite a few times in the short time we were together. Also, that was the fourth time he'd broken up with me over [seriously] trivial, sometimes laughable, reasons. Basically, every time we had an argument, I'd come home to find he'd moved out then he'd break up with me over the phone later. He always came back apologising for overreacting and asking for another chance. Yeah, he had a quick temper and would blow up over the slightest things, yell and swear ect.

Anyway, despite previous practice runs, I've taken this break up very badly. I sent him a reply to his email saying I was gutted but also accepting the break up. I expressed disappointment that he broke up via email. I've not contacted him since [i've been tempted, only to ask for some stuff of mine he's got, but decided I can live without it] and I've not heard from him either.

Thing is, looking back, he did warn me. Soon after we started going out, he told me he didn't do relationships and that he'd ended every relationship he ever had, sometimes by falling off the face of the earth with no warning or explanation. He told me he was very insecure [often asked me if I'd leave him for someone better, worried I'd cheat on him, do I still love him, am I happy with him etc - which, strangely, I found cute at the time!] He told me he had no friends - I never met or heard him mention any. His childhood best friend stopped speaking to him three years ago and he didn't know why. He became very attached very quickly, saying he loved me within weeks and talking marriage and children. I was excited!