How to deal with sarcastic, errm...<removed>?

muchacha_abril

So I work as a tutor of Spanish at this university and have to tutor whoever comes into the academic learning center. Sometimes no one comes, sometimes six people come at the same time come. One of them is this really sweet lady who has told me about her life and who I felt I could talk to. Not long ago she said she needed extra help and asked me if I could come a little bit earlier and give her a private session. She offered to pay me and I said that wasn't necessary. I gave her the session and she gave me an envelope for my little sister who I've told her about. In the envelope there were $50 and a note saying how great I am and such and such.

Well, today she came in and I was helping another student. She usually stays for 2 hours so I decided to help the other student who only needed a couple minutes. She got upset and started turning the pages of her textbook really hard and quick, evidently upset. When he finally left I started tutoring her but it bothered me for her to think that she has priority over everybody. Throughout the whole session she was being sarcastic and asking me if "I felt alright" without reason. She saw I was upset and she just kept pushing my buttons. At the end of the session she tells me "I'm gonna be here Monday either you like it or not". I told her that it wasn't necessary to threaten me. She said "I'm joking, don't take it personally".

Now I regret having taken her money because she thinks she can do and say whatever. It's always the same with me. I'm stupid and can't put people in their place...it makes me really depressed. How do you guys deal with that kind of stuff? I wish I was the kind of person that can respond at the moment. GRRR...I'm still really pissed and I have to admit I'm hurt. Mostly because I couldn't respond to her at the moment. Help me!