HELP needed very URGENTLY

grymoire

I was not sure where to put this but I am facing a financial problem...

Basically I had an Amex credit card long long time ago. I went through a very bad patch when I graduated and missed payments. In 2004 the outstanding balance stood at $3377. They asked me if I am going to pay it or they are going to consider it as a charge-off. I could not pay it and Amex marked it as closed-chargeoff. This negatively impacted my credit history...

They did not bother me all these days... but now, after 4 years, and when I am just planning to buy my first car they called me up again and asking the outstanding balance of $3377. They said if I do not pay it they are going to send it to collections and that will again hit my credit history. I spoke to them for a while and they said that if I pay a Settlement Amount of $1857 as opposed to $3377 they will close the account as paid full. They are telling this will positively impact my credit. I have to give my answer tomorrow.

I do not know what to do. I can take the $1857 from the money I saved for car and use it to pay this debt off but I am wondering what is going to happen. Will it really improve my credit ratings? I am suddenly bringing to life an account that was marked as chargeoff 4 years ago..

Can some one plz advise me? I got to make a decision tonite

This sounds shady. It is good that you are seeking advice but you should probably find a financial forum where people are more knowledgeable.

I've heard of similar situations where people are called up by creditors demanding only a fraction of the balance to mark it paid in full and those people are advised not to pay. However, I think in those situations the balance is more than 7 years old (in which case it is supposed to go off your credit history). I'm not 100% sure though. Definitely get an answer from someone who is sure though.

EDIT: This might be a good place to ask.

link removed