I am depressed. There's no more denying it.

I live with my boyfriend who does not believe in depression & believes that you create your own happiness. He also believes that you can choose to get over the past.

That being said he hasn't had that bad of a past whereas I have had some pretty bad experiences.

My bad past experiences are varied and run through very deep scars in my mind.

I'm tired of being depressed. He's tired of me being depressed. But the truth is, I don't know how to move on. The same things still hurt over & over again today. & I am a worse person because of all of it.

I'm insecure, I barely have self confidence, I have severe abandonment issues leading to clinginess....

As you can imagine, all my issues do serious damage to any relationship.

I just want to mope around all day & cry & talk about how upset I am. But I think it's getting old for him, almost as if he doesn't want to hear it anymore. It seems like he thinks I'm doing it more for attention, like I want people to feel sorry for me because I'm choosing not to move on. I'll add that I just acknowledged some of my pain again recently while visiting home. (I was doing ok ignoring it)

I'm used to bottling my feelings up, but that never ends well for me...& I feel like that's the only thing that works as far as "moving on" from the past is ignoring it all...pretending like it never happened...but isn't it bound to resurface? Well it feels like they have resurfaced & have been killing me for the past 2 months relentlessly.

I understand my boyfriend's point of view but he just seems so cold to me(and not open minded enough to consider that depression isn't something you can just will away)..but then again so does everything else.

I really need help here.