Old dogs, new tricks.

Dako

When I was young, I was clueless about work. I had little exposure to much but school, hobbies and goofing off. After a few decades of different things I'm finding a new interest and wondering what took me so long.

I was a carpenter, concrete finisher, graphic artist and sidelined in sign painting and a few other crafts, and at one point discovered how friggin lonely it is to work alone. My last career involved sitting in a gray cubicle with a PC and diddling about with images and websites.

I just started working a hectic job in healthcare with a team of fine people. It's full of red tape and other BS but at least a few times a day I have a meaningful interaction with real people. My emotions run the gamut from anger to elation each day and I go home exhausted.

Recently I was called by a recruiter to become a diamond grader. The pay and bennies look good, but all I could imagine is sitting alone with a scope in a gray cubicle feeling alone again.

No way.

No matter what it pays, work should interest you. Life is more than weekends or shopping.

Wish I knew that years ago.

I absolutely agree. You have to love your work. I know far too many people who simply work to get money so that they can retire. They live for retirement. I know someone who in her early 40's counted retirement as a major dream in her life and once a week would obsessively check her investments to see how she was doing towards her goal of Freedom 55. Work was just a way for her to have the money to retire so she could do whatever. The people I work with (MDs, PhDs) don't really think about retirement...many of them are still working into their 60's and 70's because they love the work they do.

I think it depends... if you HATE your job and it makes you miserable.. then yes, you need to find something that makes you happy.