Am I right to be upset?

Hey Everyone,

I must admit, this is my first time here but I hope you can help me nevertheless.

I recently entered into an open relationship with my long term girlfriend (10+ years) and it's not been without bumps. We had a don't ask don't tell style policy which really didn't help, I'd strongly advise against it for anybody starting on the open relationship road.

The problem began when I found out through some careful listening (nothing that would breach trust, just picking up on the way some things were said and putting together the puzzle) that my girlfriend was planning on hooking up with a friend of a group of friends of mine. I've never met this guy but he definitely knows who me and my girlfriend are for reasons I won't go in to. Also, it's worth mentioning that this group of friends don't know about my open relationship and while I wouldn't necessarily mind them finding out, I certainly wouldn't want it to be from their friend bragging about what he did.

So, after I figured it out, I asked my girlfriend to re-consider and we ended up having a pretty big argument about it with the outcome being me saying "I don't want to control you, so you can do what you want, but you know how doing this would make me feel".

Needless to say, she slept with the guy. There are mitigating factors of alcohol and feeling upset after the argument, but she invited him to her hotel room with the initial plan of calling it off so I'm not sure there was a whole lot of effort to avoid it.

I asked her the next day if she had managed to sort it out with that guy and she said "yes" and I found out just how it was sorted out last night.

Right now, I'm pretty devastated, I feel like she took an action that she definitely knew would upset me and that really hurts.

So my questions are two fold.

1) Should I be upset given that I did technically give her permission?