I gifted him a painting

pink soda

Hello everyone!

I've been dating this older guy for about 2 and a half months now. Cutting the story short at some point I realized he was a narcissist and wasn't treating me well or appreciating me. Regardless of my attempts to relay that to him, it was futile. At one point I tried to go A-wall on him and ignore him completely for a few days, that drove him insane.

My point was to end the relationship, but the humane side of me gave him another chance and I also realized that it was completely immature of me to do such a thing. We reconciled and he started treating me a whole lot better. Things were great until I felt he was bouncing back to his old habits and controlling me. He absolutely adores horses, rides horses as a hobby. Me being an artist, i decided to paint an oil painting of a horse for him. Not being cocky or anything but it was a beautiful piece. I gave it to him as a gift and he loved it.

About a week later I realized I couldn't continue with him as he was reverting to his old ways. However, this time I decided to end it the mature and right way. I met him in person and brought up how we were no longer what we used to be and I honestly wanted to break up right there and then but for some reason my eyes started to water in front of him and I couldn't control it. Evidently I wasn't able to break up in person, I tried to over the phone but the same thing happened. Eventually I realized that I had to do it the horrible way which was over whatsapp. I praised him and said nothing but kind things to him but let him know that I wanted to move on and that it was over.

It was an amicable text although I asked him to forget about me and anything to do with me. I immediately closed my whatsapp account (not giving him any chance to respond as him being a narcissist, he probably would have said some hurtful things) and mobile phone as this break up was one of the hardest things I had to do.