I think I'm falling in love with someone online

Seshka

We met around a year ago at some online community, but back then we were nothing but friends. And some time ago, 4 months to be exact, he broke up with his old girlfriend. We started talking more and more and he confessed him that he was liking me more than a friend... and I think I might too. It's not love yet, but there is definitely something going on.

There are just some complications:

I'm from Puerto Rico and he is from the east coast, USA. It sounds a bit funny to me because after seeing one of my irl friends have to struggle so bad for a long-distance relationship, I kinda swored to myself to not fall in love with someone not from my country, but it just... happened.

We do have an open relationship over msn, phone, etc., so I feel confident talking about stuff, but I just feel too many insecurities since I'm not experienced in dating, more less, online dating.

My parents met online (well my mom and stepdad) and they've been together for almost a decade, but they were from the same country.

Also, before me and this guy met, me and my family had plans to move to the US after I'm done with college, so a meeting might be possible, just in like, a year or so.

I don't know where this might lead. If we might stay as friends or more, or nothing at all.

And I'm having te usual long-distance relationship woes like "is he serious", "am I being played", "will he go back to his old girlfriend"? etc.

I really need some advice, and if I should just stop while it's not actually anything serious .