Stealing is wrong... but what else can I do?

Hi for those who don't know me, I'm a college freshman starting next week. In my school there are soooo maaaanyyy more guys than girls it's ridiculous... Probably like 60 times as many. This brings me to my question: The competition is probably heavy... I mean damn, all girls seem to be taken... I mean in my experience, girls who are taken have ignored me and even acted kinda rude towards me when I try to "flirt" with them... And this is the reaction I've gotten from like 98% of the girls I've just said hi to or smiled at when walking on campus... I mean, I was surprised by how nice so many people on this city were, and then it turns out it's probably a very different story when it comes to the college girls. Anyway, Just today in our freshman orientation there was this girl, and she was sitting with a friend of hers and then two guys hitting on them. And during a short "ice-breaker" activity where you interacted with people of other tables I had a chance to talk to her and I kinda joked with her in a flirty way and she laughed and stuff, but it was pretty brief. Anyway I doubt I had a chance, probably either because she wasn't into me, or because she was interested on the other guy, or because it was too brief, I dunno. I mean only less than 2 years ago I tried to flirt with a girl for the first time and it didn't work. Ever since I tried like 2 or 3 times and it didn't work either, but I did notice I had started to get a little better. The thing is I'm still not that good especially if the girl's already taken... I mean, I bet if she were single I'd have a pretty decent chance... Anyway, I know stealing somebody else's girl is wrong, plus it's like what tells me somebody else won't take her from me after I took her from somebody else (sorry if you started to think I'm referring to girls as objects or something... I certainly really don't, it's just that it's less complicated to type that way even though with what I'm t