how can it end this way?

right now, i feel really really lousy. it's a little past midnight. i've been crying for the past 3 hours and i'm quite certain i'l be crying till i have sore eyes tomorrow morning but i so don't know what to do about my situation.

it started last year after i graduated from university and had to move back in with my parents. i could not find a job and well, i didn't have the most excellent relationship with my family. largely, it was because i don't think they're very happy about who i've become. we're muslims and my parents are rather conservative. don't get the wrong idea. i'm not badly wasted. i don't smoke, i don't drink and i graduated with top honours. i just have a very broad and liberal perspective of the world. by the time i moved back in with my family, i've travelled most of asia and australia. i've seen many places and met many people. my horizons were expanded beyond small towns and villiages.

i was perceived as outspoken and rebellious and i just plain asked too many questions. being at home drove me crazy. i was frustrated, miserable and depressed.

what did i do? i moved out. i took a job up north- a good 8 hour drive from home. after i left home, my relationship with my family was okay again. it could even be considered good. mom and dad argued less and that was important to me. the job was slow paced and did not pay too well, but it got me out of the house.

the salary did not matter. i had hardly any expenses anyway. i left everything and everyone i've ever cared about thousands of miles away. my friends called me the first few weeks, but hearing about their exciting lives made me even more miserable. i was on a tiny island with no friends and no one to talk to. eventually, i drifted away from them too.

i spent my evenings staring at the beach. all my colleagues were old and the locals were... different. i was very alone.