My boyfriend is making me feel guilty about wanting to breakup

madelinery

Hello this is my first time posting to this forum and I am in desperate need for advice. Let me preface this by asking to excuse my grammar mistakes and messy writing.

I am a 18 year old senior girl in high school. Some information about me to better understand my situation is I am diagnosed with Bipolar 2 disorder and major depressive disorder. I have had relationships before, but they have either ended awfully or we weren’t very serious. I am in a relationship ship now, and have been for about 4 months, and it’s the first serious relationship that I’ve been in. My parents love him and he is a very nice and likeable guy. Now here’s the problem:

My boyfriend and I met at the beginning of the school year. He had an awful break up over the summer over text and I had been cheated on over the summer. After being flirty friends for a week he decided that he was ready to start dating, and I thought I was too, but I don’t think I was ready in the way he wanted. He explained what a relationship to him, which is being committed completely to each other like we’re married, I felt uncomfortable, but I thought I could do that for him. At first I thought what he meant by dating is going on a couple dates and then deciding if we should further the relationship to boyfriend/girlfriend status, but after a couple days he called me his girlfriend and I felt uncomfortable but didn’t tell him. Two weeks later he told me he loved me, I was uncomfortable once again and didn’t say it back. A couple days later he explained what love meant to him. He said he feels one kind of love for everyone. He feels the same love for his friends as he feels for a partner. I was a little weirded out but stayed quiet. 1st mistake on my part: staying quiet.