I'm losing my sanity over my personal love life

Became a widow almost 6 years ago. Had a great marriage and always pictured myself with my late husband until we were really old. However, there was another plan and ever since I can't seem to make a final decision when it affects my personal life - it's like I lost all of my confidence in my judgment.

I have been seeing someone for 4 years and we have been on and off (due to me walking away). Long story short - I don't trust his personal judgment and credibility all the time - he says what I want to hear instead of the truth many times. However, he is very loving and we have very good chemistry and I do love him. But---he is in a difficult financial situation - unemployed but may get a job soon; but that job won't pay much....he has no savings or anything else and he is 63 and I'm 57 years old. I am a professional with a very good income and fairly sizable assets - however, I'll need those funds to support myself and help my 2 kids as well.

Every time I'm ready to break up for good - i stop short of that and the few times I did actually break it off, we ended up reconciling within a month or so. It's like my heart is saying one thing and my head another since I know he is a potential monetary liability for sure and I suppose i'm not convinced he wants me for what I have and not just who I am.

Now he wants to marry me as soon as he gets a job, including the one which which doesn't pay much and he keeps on saying how happy he is that his life is going so well. But I am so depressed!!!

I just want to be settled with a partner already move forward with the rest of my life, but I want to know that it is with the right partner and recognize no one is perfect, including me.

Help please.

Many people make silly mistakes when they're young, and learn by them. Your guy is 63, and you can be fairly certain he isn't going to change.