Open Club  ·  88 members  ·  Free

Off Topic

Am I in the wrong here?

superkatnip

I need input regarding a situation I had this past weekend. SO and I were travelling this past weekend. We got free tickets last minute and were not able to find a hotel reservation as all were booked (huge music event. We did find an AirBNB (which I have never used before) about 25 miles away. I booked last Tuesday the the host was very communicative. We emailed/texted about 5 times before Saturday. I advised her that we might be in late and she sent me details of how to get into her gated community. On our way to the event Saturday, I texted her around 10:15 am asking if we might stop by between 11:30 am and 12 noon so we could see where we were going in the daylight. She said she was not home and it was not possible. I texted back fine, but that if possible, we would like to come by late afternoon, early evening, and then head back to our event. Again, to see where we were going in daylight as it is a fairly rural area. She did not respond to my 10:18 am text either way. I then texted her at 5:00 om with the same request. She did not respond, so we decided to go by the property and when we arrived found our names had not been given to the security gate staff for entry into the community. I then attempted to call her, and the call went to voicemail , but her mailbox was full. I then texted again saying that I was concerned as the gate did not have our names and asking if we did indeed have lodging for the evening. No response. I tried to call again at 6:30 pm with the same result (no pick up full voice mail). I texted two more times and even stopped by the security gate at 8:00 pm (for a total of over 90- minutes of unplanned driving) and our names were still not on their list. Long story short, no calls or text were returned and so we began a frantic search for other lodging. My last text to the host was a midnight. We were luck to finally find something and got into a room around